Using a TV aerial splitter for wireless mics?

callumb

Being budget conscious and looking at ways of making life easier I am looking at using something like this: https://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-1-way-combiner-splitter/49019 to combine two 863 - 865 MHz radio mics into one pair of standard radio mic receiver aerials or paddles when needed. I would get the proper splitter but seems a huge over kill for two units in the one rack!

Feel free to tell me I'm a total plank for thinking that this is a good idea as I am no RF expert! 🙂

I dont think they will work very well. The proper rack mount unit also has a power amp in it to help with signal been split in to different receivers.

Also tv signal has a more power full transmit power than a radio mic (which is about 10mw). Using one of them could give you more problems with interference as it wideband and it could mix it with the radio mic signal and give you more of a headache than it worth

12 minutes ago, Brian said:

Hmmm, 15dB of insertion loss. So that means only 1/32nd of the power you put in comes out.

Where did you get that figure Brian? The page I looked at showed a 4.2dB gain (it contains a line powered amp). I'm no expert on this stuff but have an academic interest in whether it would work. It is very wideband so to my mind it should work.

I also don't see the relevance of transmit power as mentioned by dmxlights. Despite the slightly ambiguous wording, the op presumably wants to use this to connect one antenna input to two radio mic receivers. Or have I misunderstood that?

Edited by DrV

For many years I used pairs of 4-way Antiference 12dB TV boosters in home-made 4-channel VHF & UHF Trantec receiver racks, using standard receiver aerials for the VHF set & either receiver aerials or cheap set-top yagis for the UHF set. Lost a bit of the 12dB in the feeders & in possible mismatches, but worked fine.