What's the best way to get work & experience in the west-end?

Aaron-Hill07

Morning Ladies & Gents,

I've been doing a lot of thinking recently about the direction of work I'm looking to go in. I'm quite well experienced in Live Events, and also have a good amount of experience working in Theatre specifically with Lighting Design + Operating etc. I've been working in the industry for about two years, professionally for maybe 18 months and have gained a good amount of experienced and built up quite an inventory of skills and techniques which I use and build on, every show.

I initially came across as the usual 'Young and Naive' 'Thinks he's the best' guy when I first joined the forum a few years ago and I completely agree I was exactly that so it's been a long spiralling road to get me to this point where actually I know I'm a drop in the ocean in comparison to some of the guys on this forum. But one thing I do know, is that I am very passionate about theatre and concerts, mainly lighting + stage management. As I say, I do have a lot of experience for someone of my age and have been given a lot of responsibility in the past by other companies/theatres which has enabled me to learn and teach myself new skills aswell as picking things up from others and from the forums such as Blue-Room.

I've always loved theatre, and have worked in a lot of am-dram theatres and worked on various theatrical productions however I'm now looking for a bit of a jump-up into some west-end theatres on some of those productions. I'd be looking for follow-spot/lighting op/crew/ASM etc. type work, so not anything that's massively relying on years and years of experience and skill.