Laptop/Tablet Recommendations?

panladea

Hi everyone!

I'm a student going into Production LX/Lighting Programming and I'm looking to buy a new laptop or tablet soon, but I don't know what to get. By the time I've saved up I should have a budget of about £800 to £1000 (although obviously the cheaper the better!).

My requirements:

• Light and portable
  • Can run CAD / ETC Eos software / other stuff that I might need as a Lighting person (sort of new to this!)

Please let me know what you use, what your friends use, what you like about certain laptops, and any other recommendations you have. I'm not against Apple but I know Macbooks are pretty expensive and I'm very used to Windows so I haven't really even been looking at that as an option. If you can convince me that it's entirely worth my money and the hassle of learning a new system, I might go for it.

Ariane :)

My requirements:

• Light and portable
  • Can run CAD / ETC Eos software / other stuff that I might need as a Lighting person (sort of new to this!)

Please let me know what you use, what your friends use, what you like about certain laptops, and any other recommendations you have. I'm not against Apple but I know Macbooks are pretty expensive and I'm very used to Windows so I haven't really even been looking at that as an option. If you can convince me that it's entirely worth my money and the hassle of learning a new system, I might go for it.

Unfortunately light and portable and ability to run say AutoCAD or Vectorworks in 3D or say WYSIWYG for lighting visualisation well are mutually exclusive even if you have much more to spend than you have budgeted.

Outside of a educational setting you'd also find the the price of such software is tremendous far more than your laptop budget.