School hall audio - the impossible dream

back_ache

Sometimes I hate being a technician, I was at my (primary) schools pta meeting last night where the teachers wanted an open-ended budget to "get a new microphone system"

Now the system they have a they have at moment generally is okay, a small format mixer and separate amp in a wall mounted metal cabinet wired to four wall mounted XLRs near where they normally perform (using temporary staging) and have their assemblies

The bad points are four randomly placed wall-mounted budget-brand 1x10" plastic cabs, a lack of knowledge and a rats-nest of unloved microphones and cables

What they want to do now is have clear, easy to use system, with high gain before feedback, that can be used for "everything" (announcements, assemblies and performances mainly)

Now as a technician I know this is "the impossible dream", however as its my kids school for the next few years I can't turn my back on them.

My (random) thoughts so far

* is to help them choose a company that will truly engage with the problem on an ongoing basis (rather than "install and run")

* replace the plastic cabs with a modern column speaker(s) to increase directionality

* see if I could get the schools only technician (just doing IT at moment and shared between two schools) to want to engage with the issue and get actively involved in setting the system up for the various events and making everything is stowed away nicely and maintained

We are not afraid of spending money, just wanting to make sure it's spent right, also don't want to buy a nice set of mics, stands, cables, di's etc just for them to get trashed within months and then moaned about

What have your experiences been in helping schools help themselves?

From what you've described, it seems like the main priority is sorting out the speakers.

If the system is mostly for speech, then no need to go mad on a top end expensive system, as it may be wasted.