Creating a cheap raised technical area

Skimble

Hello,

I work in a school that has practically no budget to do anything in the hall we use for productions. For the umpteenth time I've had issues with safeguarding equipment because I don't have anywhere safe to install or store it. I want to create a semi-permanent raised technical area at the back of the hall that will enable me to set up and leave sound and lighting equipment without every hall-user thinking they can move it, unplug it, dump stuff on it etc. What is the simplest and cheapest way of doing this? I need to create an area that's at least 3m wide and 1.5m deep and about 2m high.

Thanks,

Skimble

Not quite the right question I'm afraid.

1) Am I allowed to do this?

2) Can it be done safely?

3) How can this be done with 1&2 in mind?

4) What will it cost?

Of course it could be done, and there are lots of options... Steeldeck, 3x2 timber, scaffolding, etc.

When you say semi-permanent, what do you mean?

Can it be fixed to a wall or must it be free standing? 2m hight, but only 1.5 deep sounds to me as if it will need outriggers if free standing, especially if you're going to load the top of it with equipment.

Would building a cage/box/wall/barrier around your stuff and staying close to ground level be a possibility?

Thank you both.

I'm very keen on it being safe as it's me, my students and our equipment going up there, and I don't like things that wobble! Fixing it to the wall should be possible. The aim is to put something up that is likely to stay there for a long time, but creating something fully fixed into the fabric of the building is likely to be too expensive and too disruptive to hall use.