need advice on creating a wall of light

cathy

Hey, :unsure: jus need some advice from those how know! im a fine art student and for my final exhibition I want to create a solid plane of light which will cut through a small space, I know im a bit out of water here and really need advice. My project is basically on connections and I want to use a 3d wall of light to connect people as they walk through a darken space. Ever seen the work of Anthony Mc Call and ya will know what I mean. This guy created a cone of light using a film projector and a haze machine.

I was able to create a plane of light on a small scale using a straight line laser (decorators laser) and a mirror wall. therefor the 'L' shaped beam bounced back and create a plane of light, and became solid light using the smoke from incent burners!! I really want this to work on a human scale and need advice on possible equipment and costs! every bit of help is appreciated. thanks guys

Ever seen the work of Anthony Mc Call and ya will know what I mean. This guy created a cone of light using a film projector and a haze machine.

When I saw this at the Hayward Gallery earlier this year as part of the 'eyes lies and illusions' exhibition I was really quite underwhelmed*. You get far more effective cones of light from a mac 250 or mini mac or similar - and that can rotate the gobos, too! :-) It can be quite trippy if you put a colour rotation on too.

Peter

<><

* I've been told by friends this doesn't mean what I'm using it to mean; never mind, you know what I mean!

I can think of 2 ways, either a row of M16's coned off note I've only done this idea with a table halogen) so < is the lamp = is the cone so it looks like

<=

<=

<=

etc etc

or a projector like In the Anthony Mc Call pictures but have a line rather than a cone. But the only way that could work is to have a more reassess in the wall, unless you have it beam at a bigger angle.

Hope all that makes sense.