Safety chains ( BONDS)

James Gardner

Hello ,

This is my first post so bair with me. My school have not put safety chains on the front of house lighting bar lanterns. This issue has been adressed before , and nothing happened until A few months later when, The point finally came across that they are a standard requirement ! Yet again this has happened on the front of house bar. The Lighting and sound equipment in the hall does not have a dedicated member of staff dedicated to it. The lighting barely works and the sound gear if becoming faulty. The school technican for the drama block agreed to come with me to see what my concerns were . He agreed that the school just have bonds put on every later and until so no student was to go ontoo the stage . Another teacher who usualy runs all of the lighting and sound stuff for assemblies and performances has rigged the bar again and has not put chains on !!!! I am at my witts end , Although I am a student and this should not be a concern of mine I run all of the tech for shows and it is annoying when people dont listen. I got some advice from someone in the proffesio and he said the matter should be delt with soon and that not having sfaety chains is a serious matter .

I am stuck on what to say to the school t get this sorted out ! Could I ahve some help?

Sorry if this was abit long winded and complicated !

Thanks James

OK,

Welcome to the BR James, but the first thing to do is calm down.

As you say, you are a student and as such you cannot bear ANY responsibility for anything that is or is not done in the school.

The next thing to understand is that there is NO legal requirement for ANY suspended item to have a safety bond of any kind.

BUT it is certainly regarded as good practice to do so, and definitely a belt and braces safety measure.