Completely new to this.

fish323

Hi

I am completely new to this. My main interest is in photographically documenting the squat party scene. Not that I am a great photographer, it's just something I enjoy doing. Taking photographs in a pitch black warehouse is quite a challenge. What I would like to do is to learn about lighting so I can brighten up my surroundings. Starting from absolute zero and anyone offer any recommendations regarding books and courses and how to approach this.

Many thanks.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Moderation: Just a quick add on to explain that the OP has let the mods know he is actually taking these pictures in a club.

I think I completely missed the squat party scene - having no idea what this is.

I think before we can answer perhaps you need to explain what exactly is going on - you mention a pitch black warehouse?

It does occur to me that there are two main types of photography lighting technique - continuous lighting, where me may be able to help, or flash. One problem of old is that if you light activities that normally take place in dim, dark or no light conditions, you can wreck the atmosphere?

So Brian's questions about budget and power make sense, but also we need to know about everything - even things like hanging equipment, and of course - what is already there you may be able to press into service.

Please keep in mind we are not a photography forum, so our responses will be based on our aims as 'non-reality' events and theatrical people. We do sometimes get lighting queries for movie/video, and even that area has quite different aims to ours - lots of similarities but huge differences.

So ........ lots more info please - assume we know nothing about your project. Tell us what you really want to be doing. Sounds a bit weird to me, so give us a clue.

Just a quick add on to explain that the OP has let the mods know he is actually taking these pictures in a club.