Par 56 or Par 64

tamworth

OK, I'm still learning at the moment and I've been thrown in at the deep end. A Friend of mine has asked me to design a complete lighting rig for a concert hall for mainly Rock bands. But I have no idea that lamps to use.

The budget is limited so I was thinking 12 Par cans on a bar at the front of stage and 12 hanging above and on stage. with an additional 5 profile spots, of course it will all be ran by digital dimmer's controlled by DMX.

The venue is about the same size as the Birmingham Carling academy (if any one knows it) and I was just wondering if any one could recommend any profile spots, and suggest which Par can would be better to use, 56 short/long or a 64 short/long. there are no current installations in the venue, so I have free range as to where to put anything.

or alternatively if anybody can recommend a company in the Midlands who can provide this cheaply just in case I end up getting in over my head

any help much appreciated.

Oz

OK, I'm still learning at the moment and I've been thrown in at the deep end. A Friend of mine has asked me to design a complete lighting rig for a concert hall for mainly Rock bands.

OK - first things first.

Without some idea of the ACTUAL size of the venue it's gonna be hard to help you out.

Also useful would be the number of circuits available and dimmers (if different) and the control desk you plan to use would be of some help (though not essential at this stage).

Basically, however, whether you use 56's or 64's depends entirely on what you WANT to achieve.

56's are either 300 or 500 watts a piece, with 64's being 1kW so there's an obvious brightness versus power available issue there. If used as backlights, you may get away with low wattage 56's if supply is limited. Although if you expect to punch a backlight beam through the rest of a rig, then 64's would be better.