Re-Boarding Litedeck

Hello all,

I'm about to begin the potentially arduous task of re-boarding 40x 8x4 decks. It seems like it should be relatively straightforward, but as I've never done it before I could use a quick idiot check. 

I'm planning on using 18mm class 2 hex board sheets sourced from a flight case company, as it seems to be the most cost effective way of doing it, and saves me having to paint them all beforehand. Can anyone see a potential issue with this? I looked at marine grade but it's insanely expensive, and as far as I'm aware they come with class 2 as standard. 

Next up I'll make some jigs to attach to the bolt holes on the frame, allowing me to line up the board nicely with the correct amount of overlap. I'm hoping the boards will just drop in place without needing any trimming but I suspect that won't be the case.

Then I guess just Tek screws to the aluminium!

Sounds easy. Am I missing anything?

Cheers,

MixingWizard

How much are the hex board sheets costing if you don't mind me asking if they are cheaper than marine ply?
I guess you won't be able to repaint if that makes a difference?

We use Wickes hardwood ply (£40 a sheet, £36 with the discount card) and Leyland Trade Vinyl Silk black - but ours is Steeldeck so that is pretty much what it comes with.
We don't trim the ply - let it hang over 3mm-ish on all edges and to be honest we don't jig it just line it up over all edges.

Try not to put the Tek screws through where the bolt holes are...

• Thanks 1

As Tom says, the drawback with hex board is that it's much harder to touch up or repair afterwards. A gouge in standard ply can be filled, sanded and repainted. Which is a bit of a faff but certainly cheaper overall than fresh wood. 

• Thanks 1

2 hours ago, TomHoward said:

How much are the hex board sheets costing if you don't mind me asking if they are cheaper than marine ply?
I guess you won't be able to repaint if that makes a difference?