DMX Misbehaving

Hi All,

I'm a complete novice, and I do the lights for a local Ameteur Dramatics group that runs out of a small village hall. I'm probably going to use all the incorrect terminology here, so sorry for that. I've worked in I.T. for numerous decades, so I'm not completely clueless.

We have recently upgraded our lighting bar from what you might call an analogue system (power packs that vary the voltage to the different fixtures), to DMX. 

We've invested in a good controller and some LED fixtures, as well as a few moving head spots. However, I'm experiencing some really odd behaviour, both at the venue, as well as at home. The LED lights will be fine 95% of the time, but very occasionally they will flicker. I can stop the flicker by moving one of the sliders. This happens regardless of whether I'm using a physical DMX Controller (have tried 4 now), or a laptop & USB Dongle.

As I say, I've managed to replicate the problem at home and recorded it on the video here:

It's almost as if the controller can't make up it's mind what address to send. The setup in the video above is a chauvet obey 40, a single data cable leading to an unbranded moving head spot. Remember, the odd behaviour also happens on my non-moving head LED fixtures too.

Has anyone seen this before that could offer advice?

Reading around, most people blame the cables, and whilst I'll admit the cable in the video is actually an XLR microphone cable, the cables that I've hard wired into my lighting rig in my village hall, is definitely proper DMX cables and plugs. Fitting a Terminator on the last (or only) fixture makes no difference 

Could be a few things. First, check the DMX channel chart for the fixtures you're using. Some cheaper generic led fixtures combine multiple functions on to one channel. For example they might say dimmer is 0-100, then strobe is 101-200 etc. Your controller will be fading up from 0 to 255, so will go through the dimmer but then reach some other function.