Adapt Indoor DMX lights for outside use

jshep

Hi, Brand new here, thanks for opening the door. I am a audio production guy who has been doing indoor lighting with a truss/tripod system that is all indoor rated lighting. I will have a few outdoor dates this year to cover.

Weather always looming large, I am looking for options to house/cover/ make safe using my rig outdoors. Does anyone do this currently that can give ideas, pics? Thanks much, Shep

Thanks for chiming in quickly. It's rather small, but to grow. Currently have 4 Intimidator 160s, 2 LT Quad BTs, and 2 Swarm Fx. The likelihood is open air stage. I am a ibew data tech, so I have understanding of precaution. Looking for cover solutions for current rig.

All power cords are 12/3 outdoor rated, all power fed by Furman voltage regulators (2). Much appreciated, dosxuk!

Edited by jshep

Where in the world? What time of day? What date? What is the forecast? What is the aspect? How long is the show? Will the kit stay rigged overnight?

To be honest, if you care about this small rig of kit I would just not put any of it 'outside' - end of. Unless you or the the show can provide you with a proper covering that is safe and adequate, I would just avoid using any of it. Outdoor work is hard on kit that is designed for it anyway, let alone stuff that isn't, and by the time you've factored in the cost of a PROPER covering solution assuming any degree of weather, then it's likely just not worth it. Minimum for indoor kit would be some kind of small tent from a decent marquee supplier or an outdoor moving light dome for each piece of kit.

Using a voltage regulator is not synonymous with creating a safe electrical system - again something that is a fair bit more complex in a 'special location' e.g outside than it us just plugging into a building wall socket or two.

Edited by indyld