Profile spot gobo focus problem

Hougoumont

Hello,

Forgive the following question - I'm very new to theatre lighting - my involvement is that I use such lights in a photographic studio. It's a tad unusual and I've had to learn an entire new set of jargon words - however I like the results so I'm sticking with my Quartzcolor and Berkey fresnels!

I have a LDR Suono 20/40 zoom profile that I've used so far reasonably successfully with steel breakup gobos. But... I have noticed that I cannot keep both the edges and centre in focus at the same time.. if the centre has a crisp projection then the edges do not, and vice versa. I can't believe that this is normal - so it either a) there's a trick I don't know about to get crisp projections across the frame, 2/ the LDR Suono is faulty in some way or 3/ it's just a crap lantern.. I have read people here aren't that keen on LDR.

Thanks in advance!

You could try a donut? It’s a card (often made of CineFoil, or an aluminium pie dish..) cut to the same size as a cut of gel for the fixture, and with a hole cut in the middle. Place it in the gel slot. The smaller the hole the sharper the projected image but the dimmer the output.

Another option would be to get a profile with better optics. The Source 4 series have HD lens tubes which are optimised for gobo projection.

See also http://www.citytheatrical.com/Products/donuts?dept=36ad06a1-84a1-43c4-a654-cc6e4ee51140

Edited by david.elsbury

It's pretty normal particularly if you have a fairly standard zoom spot with angles such as a 20/44 that is set on the widest setting. A wide beam spread and a short throw distance have a greater difference between the throws at the the centre and the edges. In that situation the focus is always a compromise.

Hello,