Building a DIY video wall

EdK

Hello everyone,

Complete novice here with no experience doing this sort of thing.

Looking to build a 3X3 (or larger...keeping a 16:9 aspect ratio or close to it) DIY video wall for a small theatre company on a minimal budget. Over 90% of the content being displayed would be Powerpoint presentation with occasional short video clips. The theatre company currently rents a venue that does this but they will be building their own venue.

The purpose of the video wall is to project background scenes as an alternative to building sets, etc. The images being displayed would need to be split among all of the TVs/monitors to create one large image. This is the way it's currently being done at the venue they are renting.

The control booth would be on the opposite side of the space approximately 100 feet away.

Most DIY projects that I've been able to find by perusing the web have the 'control' PC close the the TVs/monitors using a video card with multiple HDMI outputs with an HDMI cable going from the PC to each TV/monitor. Running multiple HDMI cables to each monitor 100 feet away seems silly and impractical considering there would probably be significant signal loss over such a distance. Other projects that I've found have a single HDMI cable from the 'control' PC into a Cat6 cable then into one TV/monitor and then daisy chain the remaining TVs/monitors and somehow the TVs/monitors take care of splitting the images.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how best to accomplish this on a budget (both hardware and software) or where I could find information? Would prefer to stay away from 'projection' type solutions and they don't need 4k quality. Just something decent. Audience would be located a minimum of 20 feet away from the video wall.

Thanks! EdK