Dead Mac 250 Krypton

Nicktaylor

I became pretty good at mending the original Mac 250s. This is my first time at looking at a Krypton. This unit went from working perfectly to being dead on start up. Checking it on the work bench when plugged in there is momentary power up noise that instantly goes, as if the fan starts then instantly stops. ACtually if left, the power does come on, ie fans start but there is no display and no start up sequence. Does anyone have a sequence to check these out? Its a few years since I did the Whitelight course!

Hi Nick

If the IEC fuse has blown nothing will happen; if the fans run but the fixture won't reset then you need to check the internal fuses.

The MCB is located in the same place as the original Mac250; I.e underneath the left-hand yoke arm cover.

All the best

Timmeh.

Just to avoid confusion I’m guessing that you meant Main Circuit Board, rather than the more usual Miniature Circuit Breaker?

To check the internal voltages, there should be three LEDs near the bottom left of the circuit board in the yoke arm. If they aren’t lit then you’ve got power problems. I can’t remember off the top of my head if the LEDs will light even if the fuse has popped.

Its the righthand fuse. It was an 8A fuse that I took out! If I had the schematic it would help. I just realised there was on in the back of the handbook. Its the one marked as 6.3 A on my drawing. Without opening another unit, there is red led flashing just by the tilt feedback plug Looking at the rest of the indicators I wonder if that should be lit green or at least the one next to it.

Fault finding a blown fuse on a PCB is usually a matter of probing the (dead) board checking for shorts. Obviously after you've found no traces of fried components and eliminated shorting off-board stuff.