Lighting Setup in Unfamiliar/Unknown Venues

Uriahdemon

Hi,

I am pretty new to this hence what is probably a pretty basic question. I have an opportunity later in the year to do some shows with a band around the UK. I have done a couple so far but these will be further afield and mostly I will be unable to use my own rig.

So the scenario I am thinking of is a venue with some lighting installed, I have been unable to obtain the tech specs, the fixtures do not operate RDM (I have a Zero88 FLX Desk), fixtures are not easy to get to. Just how would you prepare to crack this nut. Any advice most welcome..................??

I doubt anyone operates an RDM system now - DMX is the norm, and the return data system was a niche market.