Speaker impedance - Bass amplifier

SA90

Morning all,

I've been sprawling the web and asking friends for an answer, but they are always differing.

4ohm bass amplifier into 8ohm bass cabinet...bad or ok?

And why?

Impedance has always confused me...is there a simple explanation out there?

I'm by no means an expert but in the real world yes it will work.

Your amp will be rated at a particular wattage @ 4 ohms, @ 8 ohms you will be driving twice the residence, so your amp will provide half the wattage. For instance if your amp is 150watt @ 4 ohms, it will give 75watt at 8 ohms. Depending what your speaker is rated at will depend whether it sounds any good.

I may stand corrected though!

That is my understanding in basic terms. There is obviously more to is when you look at the calculations, but like you I'm not in to ohms in a big way. I would and have looked at it in the way I've described and it's been fine.

4 ohm rated (solid state) amp > 8 ohm speaker is fine. Though as Pete says, you will not get all of the power your amp is capable of providing. That does not make it a bad thing though, as your amp is having an easy time.

Add a second 8 ohm speaker (in parallel) and the amp "sees" 4 ohms which is good. Now you're getting all the power the amp was designed to give. Each speaker only gets to use half of that power though.

Add a third 8 ohm speaker, and the amp now "sees" about 2.7 ohms which is bad. You're now trying to get more power out of the amp than it was designed to handle, so it will probably distort - even at very low volume, get too hot, and may let the smoke out. Or, if you're lucky, it may have some self protection built in and shut itself down.

4 ohm rated (solid state) amp > 8 ohm speaker is fine. Though as Pete says, you will not get all of the power your amp is capable of providing. That does not make it a bad thing though, as your amp is having an easy time.