Car insurance occupation categorisation

Electrolytic

What job title / occupation has your car insurer filed you under? Also which industry / nature of employer's business do you fall under?

When I was a Theatre technician at a Theatre it was straight forward.

But now I'm a sound engineer I'm higher risk?

I said its an events company, a production company. There were three options; Music production, TV production, Film Production.

That website says not - e.g. "Computer engineer" or "Civil engineer" is 2% cheaper than "Engineer", but "Television Engineer" is 10% more expensive - it's based on an average of real quotes.

You can play the same trick with comparethemarket.com but it's a bit of a faff going backwards and forwards through the quote pages.

But what happens when you have a claim which they decide to investigate?

I had a total loss claim a few years ago when my car was stolen from the railway station and written off and it was randomly chosen to be thoroughly investigated. Someone came out and interviewed me.

I suspect that had I not been entirely truthful about my occupation they'd have declined the claim. Which might have left me in the position of not being insured at the time of the incident which is a criminal offence.

Given how insurance companies like to take any reason to not pay out surely they will use anyone's not being accurate about their job as a reason.

Which is where Martin Lewis' quote “Imagine you were asking a reasonable person who knew what you do for a living. Would they say it was reasonable for you to describe yourself this way?” comes into it's own, and a court is likely to agree so if your job description passes that test you should be ok.

It has to be justifiable, but most people could argue they belong to more than one of those categories, so why not pick the one that is most advantageous? For example, I work as the TD for a city-owned venue, so I put "Local Government Middle Management" rather than "Theatre Technician."