Small Festival Lighting

the shadow

Im fairly new to lighting and come from more of a sound background but have been asked to lights for a friends band so sorry if some of this doesn't make sense or is very basic.

The band will be playing some inner city festivals this summer (sound city, great escape, etc), they want something small that can make their set look a bit different from others. Maybe even as small as some led pars or batterns/sunstrips.

I was planning on operating this with Chamsys and the dongle but wondered what the normal practise would be on using a different desk to the venues. I also wondered the best way (if possible) to run DMX to the lights as changeovers will be very tight and will probably be only a line check. I did think I could run it down the sound multi but obviously depends on the venue and engineer.

Just wondering if anyone has worked on any of these metropolitan festivals and has any insights on how I could make something work?

Thanks

Be aware in this age of digital sound desks you may find some venues have no analog tie lines available for your use- you can't go over a cat5 stage box. I would recommend advancing your show with the venues and asking what they have so you are prepared ahead of time, you could also consider a wireless DMX solution but remember it will never be as good as a wire :)

Talk to the venues they may have there own lighting and desk. if they have there own tech let there tech do the gig but just give them a list of cues. or pre plan your shows and remote control a laptop from sound booth with teamviewer

You have to talk to the festivals, get a tech spec and fit in with what they have on gigs with those line-ups. There will be extreme limitations on what you can achieve in the time available, normally none, and there is almost no chance a small band will even be allowed to add or change anything apart from programming/operating.