Miniature Set

I'm currently in my final year of my UAL course, for our unit 11 and 12 we have to pose ourselves a question for us to answer in our dissertation.

The problem I am facing is giving myself a question which is precise enough for me to answer concisely but broad enough for me to look at different things within my chosen area.

I really want to look at architecture and I would love to look at making a miniature film set, something like Wallace and Grommit or similar, I love looking at the details the set designers go into for this and how they can pull off such accurate detail while it being on such a small scale.

If anyone could help with the question, or designers I should look at, or methods which you have found work, that'd be such a great help!

Want to try and get a head start and start early on this! :)

Sounds like there's plenty of angles in there to give you a variety of angles from which to approach. Model boxes, sets for stop-motion animation, puppet theatre, and so on. Even perhaps a TV angle (the Coronation Street sets of the 60s were something like 3/4 scale, bigger but still not full-size when they built the first permanent set outdoors, and increased to full scale with the move to Salford Quays to cope with the demands of HD shooting).

There is a real difference between, let us say, small scale sets for W&G and set models designers make for productions/events - indeed, there is a very real difference between design for TV/fim and live events.....now there's a dissertation topic.

This article, I think, gives some insight into at least the cinematography involved in W&G and there are some pictures of the set being worked on - https://www.theasc.com/magazine/oct05/curse/page2.html#

I have a friend who teaches this kind of stuff at Nottingham Trent - relatively close to you I would guess - so if you email me I'll put you in touch.

KC