Skans!

robocow

What happened to skans? There is such a poor representation of them now. I still love the instant movement and tracking.

Why didn't they develop as much as moving heads?

For example. I love miniscan HPEs but they're getting harder to hire.

Sorry just a but of naval gazing - anyone else feel the same?

Purely as a tech and not as a designer I'd hate to work with Scans - the mirror is such a fragile thing to have on the front. I can't imagine touring with them as you'd get at least one smash every venue. VL3500's however can be chucked into the case by a gallow etc and remain relatively unscathed after 30 dates.

If you want to see some Golden Scans in use though check out 'Later with Jools Holland'

If you want to feed your craving for scans, then how about one of these beasts? Huge, and massively over-engineered when compared to 'modern' scanners.

I used to have a set of 6 NAT1200s, but mine were the models with CYM colour mixing, 2 gobo wheels, effects wheel, motorised zoom and focus, etc. They also had a separate ballast, which meant they took up a lot of hanging space. They also weighed in at 75kg each, including the ballast!! The mirror was almost the size of a dinner plate, and its movement was unbelievably smooth thanks to the gear reduction on both pan and tilt. The movement was easily as good as any moving head, and light years ahead of most scanners. In the end they were far too large for our venue, so I sold them for not much money.

I think Clay Paky are stretching things a bit when they say their new scanner 'creates an absolutely original swirling effect'. Clearly they've forgotten about the Coemar TX360.

:)

If you want to feed your craving for scans, then how about one of these beasts? Huge, and massively over-engineered when compared to 'modern' scanners.