Aerial rigging in trees

Hi All, I am studying a very interesting topic, Aerial rigging in trees. I am aware that many would consider this bad practice, still it happens, often by amateurs and often very unprofessionally. Apart from being an aerial rigger myself I am also an arborist. So it is a topic I want to learn more about, particularly tree assessments. So that if it is going to be done, it can be done safely.

If anyone has any views, opinions, links or are practising in the field, please feel free to share. I'm soon to do a talk on this topic for an assessment task in my diploma level in arboriculture. Any links would be especially valuable.

Many thanks,

Sam

Matter of scale. Would I hang a PAR can from a mature park tree, or would I hang a truss full of movers. I'd also consider bark crush damage, but then I'm into trees too.

You can eliminate bark crush with suitable burlap and wide webbing. Most big lighting burns too hot to safely rig in trees. Don't want to cook the tree or start a bushfire.

I'm mostly interested in circus rigging, silks, rings, trapeze and the potential shock loads that can be generated, how to eliminate them and most of all how to select suitable trees for the job.

I'm with Jivemaster really - wouldn't necessarily consider it bad practice, but it certainly could be. I've flown the odd catenary wire between trees to get (relatively lightweight) cables up off the deck. Nothing very substantial though. It'd have to be a judgement call really, I don't think I'd consider myself competent to hang more than a fairly trivial load.

Most big lighting burns too hot to safely rig in trees. Don't want to cook the tree or start a bushfire.

Is a live tree susceptible to heat damage at lower temperatures than, say, a sheet of plywood? Would it need more care than rigging lights around, say, a wooden hut, or in the vicinity of drapes etc?