New Lighting Installation

HilcrRWise

We have been allocated £15,000 to replace our exisitng lighting infrastructure. Below is a rough outline of what we currently have planned however as I have very little experience with current trends in the industry I would be grateful for any comments/suggestions on what we can do to get the best out of the new setup.

Initially we are concentrating on sorting the infrastructure with this budget, we currently have 18 fresnel lanterns we will reuse with the new setup, plus some additional lanterns and a Zero88 Jester ML48 we can nick from our drama department as and when they are required, we will look at purchasing additional lanterns if we have any budget left over, or at a later date. The only lights that definitely have to be replaced within the budget are the Cyc floods. Can anyone recommend any decent replacements for these, I am thinking an LED system would be good for this.

I have included several permanent mains connectors along the IWB's as recommended by one of the companys providing a quote, however they specified using 16A sockets, others just specified a single 13A socket at the end of the bars. I have also noticed that some kit uses powercon connectors these days aswell. What would people here recommend as the most universal socket type to use for these permanently powered sockets?

Thanks.

http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/2918/halllighting.jpg

With 16amp sockets you can use 16amp to 13 amp adaptors as needed and 16amp plugs/sockets are better made and there no fuses. with powercon they tend to feed in and out of units so the first unit can be 16amp to powercon.

You have a lot of dimmed outlets out front and very few on stage which is the opposite way around to what I would expect to see. How is the space used? Do performances only happen on the stage or out in the middle of the three bars out front too?