Are You Staff or Freelance?

Bobbsy

130 members have voted

1. 1. If you work in the entertainment industry, are you on staff, freelance or a mix of the two?

• I'm on staff and do no freelancing.
    • I work purely freelance, either directly or a a sole-trader company, as defined by the tax man.
    • I call myself freelance but am contracted to one company.
    • I'm staff or contracted but do a bit of extra freelance work.
    • I'm a student who "dabbles" but call myself freelance to sound better.

In another thread, somebody posted "no companies hire staff any more, everyone is freelance". Is this true?

Please do not answer unless you are working full time, either staff or freelance. Sorry to the students but I want a feel for people working full time.

I'll be honest and not vote since I'm now retired....

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Can I suggest another category in the poll.

I am employed by my own company, as such I am paid PAYE, and I deal with all employer and employee NI, tax, and student loans repayments. So by the definitions used I fall into the first category, but then I don't really. From the point of view of anyone I work for I would fall into the second category, but again I don't really. I definitely wouldn't put myself down as either of the last 3 categories, but I can't fit into either of the first 2. As far as the tax office is concerned, they reckon on it being the same as invoicing through a service company (its complicated by sales and installation work, not just production work), and as such I wouldn't really fit any of the options above.....

Can we have one for "Studying, but also registered Self-Employed" please?

I find the last one a bit patronising, I work for more than one company and client, declare my income, have my own PLI and do things by the book. I was also a 6th Form student until recently and will be a university student.

Cheers

Josh