Radio Mics for schools

tomo2607

Every year the school puts on a show. This is my first year working at this school and were looking at things in a different way.

Usually, ive been told, a sound engineer is hired for the 3 day run plus 2days rehearsal. Bare in mind that we are not well equipped. Ive been told this costs the school around £800 - £1000 based on the the time of the engineer and the equipment hire... This includes the use of upto 8 radio mics, mixing desk and a few other things for effects playback...

Well, this year things are a little different. During my employment I have purchased a new mixing desk capable of running the show from, a mac book pro and an audio license for Qlab. This leaves me short of just the microphones. Ive been trying to source radio mics either for hire or for purchase within the budget of the usual sound engineer costs. if I could purchase up to 8 radio mics then that would be a huge saving for coming years. But here's where im a little stuck. I dont really know what im looking for.:blink:

What im asking is... can any body point me in the right direction? whats best to look for and what to avoid. whether its best to purchase a license for radio mic use or to find radio mics that work on free frequencies etc.

The mics need to be a lapel type rather than hand held. We are looking for a minimum of 4 but up to 8 depending on cost and have a budget of around £800 - £1000

Im not looking for something amazing, just something that will meet our low expectations, however I don't think the likes of fixed frequency maplin specials will cut it :huh:

Hi,

We've gone through a very similar process. Minus the QLab, it is almost identical.