Uni 2012

Hi there,

I am looking to start university in 2012 on a live event technology course. At the minute I am looking at the SLLET course at Derby and the LET course at Glamorgan. I am currently at sixth form college and my grades when I leave will most probly give me BCC. The entry requirements for SLLET is 240 but looking to go to 280 and LET is 300. I'm worried that I may not get the required entry requirements to get into the Universities.

However, I have 4 years weork experience in the industry working on both small events and large events, some with quite reputable engineers. Will the universities take this work experience into account if I do not meet the required UCAS points?

I know there is quite a few SLLET and LET students and graduates on here, some lecturers too. So I thought this was the right place to ask the question.

Any help wood be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Charlie

PS - Sorry if all this is a daft question!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Charlie,

Rather than go through your academic profile on a public forum, I'm happy to discuss your query via a private message (look in your in box!).

However, as a general rule, we will look at the "whole package" - your GCSE subjects and grades, your BTEC / A level subjects and predicted grades, employment, personal statement and reference. Sometimes we might even look at Blue Room too ;-)

Simon Lewis

Programme Leader, Sound Light & Live Event Technology.

Hi Charlie,

Rather than go through your academic profile on a public forum, I'm happy to discuss your query via a private message (look in your in box!).

However, as a general rule, we will look at the "whole package" - your GCSE subjects and grades, your BTEC / A level subjects and predicted grades, employment, personal statement and reference. Sometimes we might even look at Blue Room too ;-)

Simon Lewis

Programme Leader, Sound Light & Live Event Technology.

What a novel way of meeting Uni lecturers!