Low budget school theatre - Scanners or Movers?

ben-collins

Hi There,

I have recently been made redundant from a theatre and I am now working at a schools theatre as the stage manager and technician, and I am hoping to include some intelligent lighting fixtures into their venue. The only problem is that I am new to the “cheap” market and have only ever been involved with the high end Martin Mac lighting fixtures in my previous job. I have been to Thomann.de as recommended by a mate, and have found two fixtures (a mover and a scanner) that I think may do the trick. But I am still unsure about the fixtures and have many questions about them, I know I “get what I pay for” and they’re cheap and there never going to be the same quality as the Martin Mac range, but I’ve got a small budget and that’s all I have to work with!

Here are some of my questions...

· What are the difference between the brightness of the two fixtures?

· What is the pan and tilt like? (is it fast, 8bit or 16bit? how accurate is it? does it always point at the exact same spot if programmed by DMX?)

· How fast are the gobo and colour wheels? (are the motors accurate?)

· How easy are they to clean and maintain? (are they modular like the Macs? Are they easy to take apart?)

· How long will they last? (can the parts be replaced? How long will the ballast last? Will a fixture with a standard bulb last longer because there’s less to go wrong than a ballast and discharge lamp?)

Here are the two fixtures I found...

Moving Head

iMove 5s (re-badged as Stairville MV250H)

http://www.thomann.de/gb/stairville_mv250h...ng_head_elc.htm

http://www.djequipment.co.uk/acatalog/IM-5S.jpg