Lighting Truss Suspension

parcan2009

Hi All,

I am a lighting designer, and I am currently working on a new nightlcub installation.

This installation is within an old warehouse, where they have cross girders. I am looking to suspend multiple truss' across the length of the warehouse.

I am unsure of how to suspend the rig. I am looking at daughty engineering under the girder clamp section (see below) are these clamps normally used on such installations?

http://www.doughty-engineering.co.uk/cgi-b...showprod_T28870

http://www.doughty-engineering.co.uk/shop/67/index.htm

What would be the best way to suspend a rig in this situation? There are 15 cross sections of steel girders. I am looking to install directly below and also inbetween the girders. There are no cross steels supporting the roof that I can suspend from on an axis for weight distrobution.

Any comments would be much appreciated!

Many Thanks,

Russ

The safe way to hang a rig starts with a structural engineer's appraisal of the load bearing limits of the structure, unless you have good drawings with SWLs marked on them.

After that you must design a rig and calculate all the loads in trusses and their hangers, taking into account the dynamic nature of some (typ moving light) loads.

You certainly do NOT just go up and hang clamps on beams.

The safe way to hang a rig starts with a structural engineer's appraisal of the load bearing limits of the structure, unless you have good drawings with SWLs marked on them.

After that you must design a rig and calculate all the loads in trusses and their hangers, taking into account the dynamic nature of some (typ moving light) loads.

You certainly do NOT just go up and hang clamps on beams.

Hi there,

I have had a structural engineer do an assessment and all steels are capable of the loading required. I was tempted to employ a rigging company, but I have good experience in rigs as I am an electrical engineer by trade with buildings and structures.