Lighting for a small band???

Plan-B

Hi all, I'm very new to stage lighting and I'm looking for suggestions and advice on the subject. I'm in a small band a we recently have played a few gigs where no lighting was available. We would like to invest in some portable stage lighting for such situations. My thoughts are to use DMX LED par cans, a couple DMX effect lights and a control board. My issue is that we will not have a tech to control these light and it will be left up to busy band members. What I think we need is a foot switch system that will allow us to access a few different things on the control board; blackout, full up, a few different sound activated chases for the par cans, a few chases for the effect lights and maybe control a fog machine ect. Our current budget is very limited so I'm looking for cost effective but with the abilty to expand. Any thoughts and ideas on the matter would be greatly apprecated.

Check out KAM. They had a system similar to what you want on show in Plasa this year.

Another vote for this type of setup. KAM's Par Bar Mk II is worth having a look at. Prolight and others do something similar too.

Try to audition whatever you can to see what it produces in terms of chases and how it reacts to music if you want sound to light. They might be sold as being suitable for bands but some chases are a bit too 'disco' for me. Oviously that's just my opinion! B-)