Magic Q PC and Linux

johnhuson

First off I'm very much a newbie to Linux so forgive me if I'm a little naive!

Here's the scenario, I'm planning on stripping my laptop and re-installing everything this weekend as it's quite cluttered and slowing down! As I've been using Magic Q PC more and more, I thought it would be nice to create a dual boot system so I have a clean and hopefully more stable OS to run Magic Q and another for the rest of my day to day stuff.

I'm leaning toward using Linux as the Magic Q OS, mainly because that is what the software was originally designed for I believe and also it has less baggage then Windows so should hopefully be more stable. Now as I say I'm a complete newbie to Linux and I've read that it can be quite difficult to install, particularly as a dual boot with Windows so is it worth it? Would I be better just using a CD bootable distro of Linux and would this offer any real advantage over having a HDD based version, bearing in mind I'm only planning on using one application.

If I were to go for a second HDD based boot of Linux which would be the best to use with Magic Q? Although I would like it to be not too much of a headache I'm not an idiot when it comes to computer, I've had many years experience of PCs, networks and servers, just largely Microsoft based!

Finally I don't want to get into a general discussion about whether Linux is better than Windows, were not a PC forum after all. My question is specific to a suitable OS for using Magic Q PC.