diy lighting desk

computer

Hi,

I'm a poor student (:D) and I am really into stage lighting. we have a local amatuer theatre group, and I help there, but they have no lighting (well, they have 4 par cans hooked to a single channel pulsar dimmer).

So, they asked if I knew a way to get or make some cheap lighting equipment. I said I'd have a look, and I came across this. I thought it looked pretty good and isn't that expensive to do. I was thinking of doing an 8 channel version with two 4 channel dimmer packs (like pulsar's rock desk/minipaks).

Does this look safe? And is it easily done or hard to do? I am in the UK if that helps. We will be probably be buying 4 more parcans at some point soon. Also, is it true you can dim standard floodlights on a theatre dimmer? I can get a cheap floodlight from a local shop for about £6 so if so it would be brilliant. I heard they work exactly the same as the professional ones but without a gel frame.

Thanks,

computer

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Seems to me quite complicated to construct having seen the circuit diag.s and unless you are quite competant with electronics and all the safety issues, I wouldn't bother.

Also, it was designed for operation in south Africa, and it might not comply with the PAT testing over here in the UK (sure someone else will be able to offer more advice...)

Quick bit of my advice... I've seen a strand tempus 12 channel board sell for £50 on ebay, and I'm sure a look around the internet will find some cheap second hand dimmers, bearing in mind the cost of buying all the circuitry to make your Lx800, buying second hand stuff may be the way forward.

two 4 channel dimmer packs (like pulsar's rock desk/minipaks).

Looking at this, you colour by some pre-made secondhand boards and maybe link them up to your home-made dimmers?