Pulsar & Strand Compatibility

erik10_4

Having run our first charity AmDram with hired lighting, I am looking to get together sufficient kit to run the next show without the need to hire lighting equipment. I have started small with the purchase of a cheap (but good condition) Pulsar 6-way analogue lighting desk and am about to buy a second-hand Strand Tempus 15A Dimmer rack. Now, I think that they both connect with the 8-pin cable supplied with the Pulsar desk..... but that the pin configuration on Pulsar & Strand units is different. Is rewiring the dimmer end simple....or am I being simple!!

P.S Apart from ebay and UsedLighting.co.uk (expensive) are there any other good sources for the bits & pieces I need.

As dbuckley says, strand uses -10V and pulsar dimmers use +10v. So your pulsar desk will also use +10v. I've no experience of that particular desk - some are switchable to use -10V, but I don't think that one does.

So you'll need an inverter if you want to join the two.

Are you any good with a soldering iron - the components to build a 6-way inverter will probably cost less than a fiver, not including the cost of the box or PSU. I can point you towards some circuits, but unless you've built electronics kit before, it's probably not worth trying.

For reference, you'll need 1x op-amp and 3x resistors per channel - so 2x quad op-amps, 18 resistors and some veroboard should do the job.

Also, be aware that even if you are using "normal" +10v dimmers - ie just about everyone except Strand - Pulsar tend to use a different pin-out from just about everyone else. Everyone else follows the strand/Zero88 pinout numbering. So you may need a cross-wired cable. more details HERE.