A little help with Comms

thirith

Hi everyone,

I've recently become the de facto Tech at my little community/amateur theatre. Alongside my appointment is a new Executive Producer and he's making great strides into getting the place fit for propose again after a few years of neglect. I've been a Stage Manager for a number of years, but we've always had other guys who knew how the whole place was put together, unfortunately the last of them passed away unexpectedly two years ago, so I'm very much having to learn as I go.

Two of the major bugbears was the show relay, and the old comms. I have managed to get a relay and even a paging system to our dressing rooms, green room, and foyer. I've now turned my attention to the old comms system. We have a base unit (CMS 2 Master Station), and (in theory) 5 belt packs. The base unit is labelled as Metro Audio, which I think became Granite Sound at some stage. The comms work, but the belt-packs are falling to pieces, the call lights are smashed, and the connections are loose.

I have a few questions relating to this comms system.

Where can I find spares for these packs? - New packs I can transfer the circuitry into, or at least some replacements for the call lights
If I was to buy completely new packs, do they need to be the same brand as the base unit?
Can I have one belt pack from a different manufacturer?
Has Granite Sound changed it's name again?

These are probably stupid questions, but unfortunately it's the only way I'll learn how to move forward in my new role. I know how to use comms, but I don't really understand how they work. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Loads of folk are going to come in on this one and help you out 🙂 I'll kick things off...

Call lamps - replace with LEDs (many of us have). This has come up a few times on BR. This is one thread but maybe not the best: