Next step up Video Camera

richardash1981

I'll try and be more specific ...First a little history.2003-2007 I did a lot with student TV at university, but all SD and composite (computer connections DV over firewire). Since I graduated I haven't owned or used a video camera/camcorder, but I did (2009?) get a Canon 450D DSLR - which is stills only (no video modes).

Since lockdown I have had ot get back into doing video production, for online consumption, to support both church and other voluntary groups.

So far, work's bargain basement smartphone (Honour 7S) has proved sufficient - it shoots reasonable 1080p30 video provided the light is OK. Audio has to be off-board, but I have solutions for that. The lens is typical - a fixed, very short focal length wide angle job. Sensor is 13M pixels, you can't digitally zoom very far before it looks terrible.Whilst everything was being filmed at home, either by me or by contributors on their phones, there was no reason to want (or way to use) a better camera. Everything we have done so far has been not-live, so recording video clips and editing later (my PC is not pleased!).

As things start to somewhat ease (at the moment) this is starting to change, and the limitations of a basic smartphone as camera are becoming clear:

1. Some church services will happen in person, with some congregation present, in the church building. Even if we don't stream live, recording as-live will make production a lot easier, and the filming less disruptive to those present in person.
  2. I'm trying to produce some wildlife / industrial history content for a local nature reserve, i.e. flowers, insects, aretfacts rather than just talking heads.