LD90 Strandlightning

StevenWald

Hello there,I'm new so a little introduction first.

I work as a teacher at a Waldorf School in the Netherlands (so sorry for any mis-spelling)For our plays we used 2 old Zero 88 dimmers. One broke down last year due to it's age. Via Via we got a used Strand Dimmer LD90. It had been stored in a theater but they could't use it ( not enough free wall space for mounting) so they gave it to us. I know for a fact that it worked. Now yesterday my dad and I installed the thing technically. He used to install technical instatations for his profession so I'm pretty sure he put the right wires to the richt connectorshttp://www.blue-room.org.uk/public/style_emoticons/default/wink.gif. We also followed the manual.When we tried to start the thing up, the LED's Lit op saying it's ok. But the LCD display didn't show any information. The only thing we could see were darker squares in the display.

I think there may have been made some kind of adjustment by the previous owners (It once was used in a concert hall, maybe as part of a larger system).I already looked through the manual but didn't find specific hints for troubleshooting this error.So who has any troughts?Thank you in advance,

The only thing we could see were darker squares in the display.

Black squares on a display mean one of two things...

1) The contrast adjustment on the display needs adjusting. You'll need to read the manual to see if this is something you can adjust.

2) The display has not been initialised. This might be something simple like a loose connection between the display and the processor card or it could be something major like the processor is faulty.

Have a careful read of the manual and let's hope it's 1) that is the problem.