PA for Male Voice Choir advice required

octopub

Hi all, I'm new to the forum so a big hello to you all!I'm after some advice and recommendations for sound equipment for my male voice choir of approximately 30 voices and 1 piano (electric and non electric - depending on venue)It will be used for performances (up to 200 people in the audience) and recording the performance and rehearsals.It's mostly ensemble singing but there is some solo work and a spoken MC.Can you recommend a desk, speaker, mics and recording device please?I'm relatively new to all this so ease of use would be good. If there is anything I have overlooked please let me know.

My Budget is around £1200Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions. Much appreciated.

Do you want to record the choir, or amplify them, or provide announcements and intros? All these require totally different approaches. Recording them in a way that sounds similar to commercial releases means distant miking and probably direct to stereo. Making them louder - which seems a bit streamge with 30 people needs something different. 'Repairing' balance, where a soloist just can't compete with louder but probably less important voices means spot mics for these people and a sound operator skilled in blending these things together. There isn't really one thing you can buy? Sound soaking venues can be helped by tricks, but more huge sounding venues like churches are the opposite - and need taming.

I realise you probably do want a one size fits all system but ignoring the two speakers on poles approach for the introducion stuff - are there issues you need to solve? Bad balance, weak voices, unskilled singers, conductor with no sense of natural balance, or just what?

Your profile info is a bit thin, so we don't even know where in the world you are - this changes things too?