Zero88 BetaPack MKI Repair

Nutnode

Hi all,

I recently volunteered myself & a friend to undertake the repair of some disused MK One Betapacks. The packs had been set aside long ago, with as far as anyone can remember - 'no channels working'. The threads on this forum proved invaluable as a source of information resulting in all three packs being restored to a fully operational state. I thought it might be beneficial to feedback here info on the components we used & from where as an up to date guide for anybody attempting the same. I am an electrician & my friend trained as a video & television service bench engineer, so between us we have a good level of knowledge & experience, but any of these repairs could be attempted by a competent hobbyist. Most of these components are as previously listed in various posts around these forums & wiki. I ordered…

Vishay CCF60 Series E36 Axial Metal Film Fixed Resistor 100kΩ ±1% 1W ±100ppm/K

RS Stock no.:830-9201

Panasonic Aluminium Electrolytic Capacitor 10μF 35V dc Through Hole M Series Aluminium, Through Hole Electrolytic

RS Stock no.:228-6717

RS Pro 10A Ceramic Cartridge Fuse, F, 6.3 x 32mm

RS Stock no.:413-248

MULTICOMP PPFH-6132 Fuseholder, 6.3mm x 32mm, 20A PPFH-6132

CPC Stock no.:FF02304

(Please note this panel fuse holder is NOT a direct replacement and required slight filing of the panel. I purchased due to no stock availability of exact part)

Single Channel Triac Opto Coupler

RS Stock no.:161-1015

240v/23v Main PCB Transformer (Salvage unit)

Ian Knight - TheServiceGuy

I also ordered, but we did not need to fit…

ON Semi 2N3904TA NPN Transistor, 200 mA, 40 V, 3-Pin TO-92

RS Stock no.:739-0442

BTA25-600B STMicroelectronics, TRIAC, 800V 25A, Gate Trigger 1.3V 100mA, 3-Pin RD-91

RS Stock no.:829-4014