Vintage haze pots.

bigclive

Does anyone remember one of the earliest haze effects that was used in early nightclubs to create a very fine particulate haze in the air?

They used a heated ceramic pot which was sometimes a ceramic cone with bare live external element wound round it (origins in scientific equipment). The cone or pot was loaded with sal ammoniac (ammonium chloride) which would liberate a vapour that then reformed into a solid in the air as a very fine dust with good optical properties. Totally non compliant with modern safety regulations as it could genuinely cause irritation for some people if used in excess.

But my question is... What power rating were the heater pots? I remember looking at one many decades ago, but there was no data on it.

Does anyone remember one of the earliest haze effects that was used in early nightclubs to create a very fine particulate haze in the air?

I used to be a technician for a chemistry teaching lab. Every now and then, timetabling would schedule a business studies class in there... not an appropriate space for them, but our complaints weren't heeded. It was easier to unscrew the tops of the ammonium hydroxide and hydrochloric acid bottles and let the room fill with a glorious fine haze that rolled down from the chemicals rack.

It emptied the room of unwanted students pretty fast...

Ah, it's one of the bare open cones. Popular in America in a lab environment which probably explains the 120V rating.

660W is much higher than I was expecting.

I'm pretty sure the one I saw in a UK venue was fully enclosed and designed for 240V.

Here you go