Line 6 vs Audio Technica

mar

Hello,

I am looking to buy up to 10 radio mics for our school and in order to avoid long term issues with frequency licencing and to try and keep the costs down I was thinking of going down the 2.4GHz line.

I've had two options from my suppliers and seek opinion on which one people would choose.

The two I have been suggested are:

Line 6 VH75HS Specs

or

Audio Technica System 10 Pro Specs

I have heard good things about the Line 6 offerings but know nothing about the Audio Technica besides what is on their site, so any real world experience would be welcome.

For some context, we are an incredibly remote school and the theatre is a separate building with only two Wi-Fi hubs (part of a school wide coordinated system) so interference is not a great concern. Equally I am quite happy to squash the wi-fi during performances as it might discourage phone use slightly. They would be fairly well looked after (I am a full time technician) but durability is naturally relevant.

Thanks

Michael

Me and my singer were supplied 2x of those Audio Technica ones last Saturday outside in a very busy touristy part of Dubai; around 10 big hotels within shouting distance - all with multiple networks, a boat load of shops and cafes all with their own networks, everyone on their phones in the resort and out on the busy street etc etc.

No dropouts. They were fine all day. Batteries lasted hours and hours and they sounded quite nice. Ms Singer seemed to distort them a few times on the really big notes. I was making noise on a piano at the time so couldn't check whether it was the mic, receiver or desk. No sensitivity controls as you'd get on a Senny etc to speak of that I could see.

Only thing - they did feel a bit cheap compared to the (UHF) Senny handhelds I normally use. Don't know how much they cost, but performed really well, I'd say.

All I can say is that we've had 6 of the Line 6 V75s for a couple of years and I'm very happy with them.