Student Ld

emountford15

Hi! Im a young lighting designer wanting to get into the business!I am current 14 years old and my age limits everything! At school I often run large amounts of moving lights at school! Im also very familiar with different network protocols such as artnet and try to use them as much as possible! Im slowly learning vectorworks and wysiwyg but its so hard to learn with out having hands on experience? What is a good way I can get into theatres / live events at this young age? Would anyone be willing for me to shadow them or take me on for a show or to? I think this is the best way to learn! Many Thanks , Elliott! (Also im based in essex)

Have a look at some local am dram groups, most are willing to have young blood, and you will learn how to light a show with what you have, rather than what you want. Waving 200 moving lights round on Wyg is fine for fun, but you will learn far more about the basics of lighting with 18 lights and a swatch book.

Many pro environments have big insurance issues with minors, so wait until your 18, it's not far off, and you have your whole life ahead of you.

Learn how to coil a cable quickly and neatly, and get used to pushing a broom on a stage, then go and see if some local venues and/or rental companies need a new boy for a while. ( Don't expect to light the next U2 world tour.). Don't do the common mistake of being a know it all at the age of 18, I met one once and he was so useless he could not coil a mic cable.

Take a look at the back stage academy. They do a course that could start you off well.

Sorry if it's not you wanted to hear, but everybody starts at the bottom.

Paul

...moving lights ... network protocols such as artnet ... vectorworks and wysiwyg ...

Hi Elliott,