Beginner Help

jordanp

Thank you guys in advance. I am a beginner at lighting design but understand the basics of DMX controlled light shows and have a little experience there. I work for a church and the pastor wants to know if this stage design is possible using light bulbs.

For Simplicity sake, lets say we have a 10X10 grid on the back stage with a light bulb every square foot giving us 100 light bulbs. Is there a way to control them Via DMX, or any other way, that would allow me to randomize them so that they turn on and off to give that "sparkling" look.. Thanks again.

Or the simpler way would be to wire them into dimmers, presuming you don't have 100 dimmers lying around then you'll probably want to put the bulbs into strings. With the effect you want you'll probably do this randomly rather than any particular pattern and then program a chase in whatever desk your using that gives you the desired result.

The amount of variation you want determines the number of dimmers you need and vice versa.

obviously you will need someone electrically competent to wire this up and ensure it is safe, which from your post sounds like you may need to get someone else.

Thank you guys in advance. I am a beginner at lighting design but understand the basics of DMX controlled light shows and have a little experience there. I work for a church and the pastor wants to know if this stage design is possible using light bulbs.

For Simplicity sake, lets say we have a 10X10 grid on the back stage with a light bulb every square foot giving us 100 light bulbs. Is there a way to control them Via DMX, or any other way, that would allow me to randomize them so that they turn on and off to give that "sparkling" look.. Thanks again.

YES !

If you want a totally random flickering look,

Use low wattage bulbs of 15, 25 or 40w,

Wire each lamp in series with a floro starter.

They will just flash off and on randomlly,

experiment with wattages to vary the speed of flashing.