At what point do you pull a show on safety grounds

emj

I’ve just finished a 40-date UK tour

Venue size was from 200 to 1500 seats

On 4 occasions I could have pulled the show due to lifting gear obviously failing a visual inspection

I’m an experienced gear inspector and rigger

And 1 occasion on electrical safety grounds

Again I have a lot of experience of carrying out electrical safety inspections

All where bought attention of the venue some they reassured us where correct. we did not push they issue not wanting to pull the show. Non where at the point of catastrophic failure

The producers have cut the Venus from the autumn tour schedule on health and safety grounds

Just posting to see what peoples thoughts are

Thanks

Em

dodgy this - I've been put in similar positions myself on lx grounds (no pun intended)

It seems to me that if you knew it was unsafe, then if the worst happened during the show you would be pinned to the mast and shot. I can't imagine a jury feeling sorry for you. If you had the power to pull, you should have. If there was someone else in charge, then s/he would have had the problem instead, once you pointed it out.

The problem, as people in this position know, is that if you want to work for the production company again..................

Guest lightnix
The problem, as people in this position know, is that if you want to work for the production company again..................

Hmmm... the age old dilemma ;)

I thought that way for many years, but in the end began to turn it around, so that the "if" became a "do". Do you want to work for the production company again? Do you want to work for a Prod Co that puts you in such positions?