DFA Button

I am currently conducting research on various forums on engineers perspective's to the question. Does using the DFA (Does ###### All) button work or cause conflicts? This is for my Dissertation I am in my final year studying Audio & Music Production. Please could you answer the question for me, with an explanation. It won't take long.

Does using the DFA (Does ###### All) button work or cause conflicts?

Thanks

Ben Heys

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

We were once dubbing a programme at YTV and each time the producer  wanted changes we tweaked a few controls even thought we had locked out the dynamic automation on the AMS Neve Logic console. Each time we then played back more adjustments were made and after about six passes the producer was happy even though every time they were hearing the same mix!

<div><br></div><div>The main DFA adjustment was actually to just turn the monitors up a notch and that also seemed to work a treat!</div>

Tweaking the mic eq until it sounded awful and then putting it back to where you started from seemed to satisfy most of the old radio DJs. I have heard tell of the radio producer given an unrouted fader at the end of the desk to play with to keep him happy.....

There are also a lighting equivalents to the DFA, including a quick nudge to wobble a lantern while focusing which to the LD makes it "much better" despite the fact you haven't actually made any material change. The flip side is that I used to focus regularly with a LD who was always satisfied with a swift clonk, but had just spent several minutes telling you to "not keep fiddling with it" despite the fact you weren't touching the lantern at the time.