Surround sound in theatre?

alan1180

Working on a production of Miss Saigon very soon and I've been asked if its possible to have surround sound for a helicopter sound effect that needs to travel from behind the audience around their right side and onto stage!

The sound system already installed in the theatre is typical left and right, how can get it to be surround sound?

Alan

2 Stereo Tracks played simultaneously (Or a surround sound track and suitable player) With one pair fed through the main Left / Right and the other fed through a couple of auxes to additional speakers positioned at the rear of the theatre.

On the first show I worked as a sound tech, back at school, I achieved a workable effect with a stereo track by simply turning up / down the channel faders and auxes, however this was with a number of short sounds. (screeches that needed to come from different points in the room)

EDIT: Assuming you have your aux feeds on faders (or can accurately turn pots well enough, the following may work:

Stereo track fed to Left/Right and 2 Auxes:

Aux 1 is a single speaker / pair at the back of the room.

Aux 2 is a speaker to the right of the room.

Start the track, L/R faders down, Aux 1 up.

Bring Aux 1 down, Aux 2 Up,

Then bring Aux 2 Down, L/R up.

Some messing with timings / multi-finger fader skills may be needed to make this sound good.

Alternatively, Stereo track that pans Left to Right going into 2 channels on the desk, both set to centre pan. Same Aux / speaker setup as above.

Left Channel Feeds Auxes 1 and 2

Right Channel feeds Auxes 2 and Left/Right.

assuming the tracks sum correctly into aux 2, and the level increases correctly, that would work.

You can't with just L&R

Alot of engineers go with quadrophonic, however, getting this to sound right is a nightmare because of the rate sound travels and at the delays that need to be put on the signal.