In your opinion, what is the most effective sound recording equipment?

GlenHartley15

I am a BA Hons student and am currently writing a dissertation piece on "How has the use and creativity of Sound Recording changed during the 20th Century"

I currently have some books, journals and websites to run off, but I would prefer to have some

more defined knowledge from Sound Designers or people who have researched this or a related topic

beforehand.

If you have anything to offer or say please comment!

In your comment if you can please define where your knowledge has come from and where your place of study is in the industry.

Thanks again and comment away!

Not sure where you'll end up with this as the technology behind sound changed out of all recognition during those 100 years.

At the start of the century the flat disk had only just been developed and experiments were taking place on magnetic wire recorders. I'm not sure but I don't think the electric motor had yet been refined enough to drive things accurately, so everything was clockwork and cumbersome.

Compare that with the fully digital systems we had by the turn of the millennium.

Creativity is more subjective, but its clear that technology has aided creativity although there are those that argue that it went backwards when the technology went largely digital!

My interest started in the early 60's and I went into an apprenticeship in the late 60's starting on valve kit as 'transistors' were new and lacked the dynamic range of the valves. I dropped out of the industry to go into computers in the late 70's and have only 'played on the periphery' as an amateur since.