Using Copyright Images

ace

Hi guys,

This is slightly off topic, but I am sure that you will be able to help me! I am looking for more information relative to the use of stolen images in an advertising campaign.

Basically at my university anyone wishing to get elected to the student union committe is allowed to run an advertising campaign and most of the candidates are using posters as their main advertising tool. Several of the candidates are using clearly copyright images, such as exerts from the comic strip 'peanuts' and using modified versions of the 'carlsberg' advert.

I am sure that this is illegal as they have stolen the images without permission. Can anyone point me in the direction of the legislation which confirms/denies this?

Many Thanks,

Chris

Cool..

That looks exactly like what I was looking for. Any idea which section would be most relevant to this issue? I am not very good at interpretating this wording!!

Many Thanks,

Chris