Women working in theatre - please help me with my research by answerin

Hi Everyone

My name is Rosie, I'm in my 3rd year studying theatre & performance technology and I am writing my final research paper on women working in live entertainment and would very much like you all to help me with my research by doing a survey! It is just 10 questions and they all have comment boxes where you can write as little or as much as you want.

Anyway, if I get enough replies, I will post the results up on here so you can see where things ended up!

If you're male, do this survey please: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/5KBQGNB

If you're female, this one's for you: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/7MNPJD8

Also, if any of you would like to talk to me a bit more about your experiences or thoughts I'd love to hear from you, so please do get in contact by emailing me at rosie.burgess@me.com

Hope to hear from you soon!

Many thanks,

Rosie

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sorry, Rosie, I did start to do the survey but I have to be honest and say that I don't feel that this is really a subject that these days is particularly valid.

I know many male techs, and a fair number of females too, both in the amateur and professional worlds, and can't say that gender has in any way influenced who I work with, or who I engage for any particular role around a stage. I simply fit the people available to the roles that need doing.

These days I don't believe discrimination is a major problem - certainly not as big an issue as some focus groups would have us believe at times. And again, being bluntly honest, trying to compile a worthwhile final paper on this is going to tax you a little...