Adding slides & titles to a DVD

Bakerboy1977

I'm new to DVD recording. My church want to record services onto DVD.

We are buying a DVD recorder which will be connected to the output of our Vision Mixer.

We want to add titles and slides, such as powerpoint slides, before and after the recording. What is the best way to do this?

Can we put the slides on a DVD and then record the service after them?

Is there a type of DVD recorder that would make this easier?

I'm no expert on video as my main fields of experience is lighting & sound, however I do dabble at home. I would suggest that a PC or Mac based solution would be a better option for what you are trying to achieve. Record the service onto the PC, this will then allow you to edit out any unwanted footage and add titles etc. in post production.

However this would be a more significant cost than a stand alone recorder but would give you a lot more flexibility. Jigsaw Systems do some excellent solutions for computer based digital video.

Jigsaw Systems

Most churchs mix feeds live and master to tape or DV, then dupe off for the mailouts. If you want to do it post, then avid/premiere/final cut etc will do the rest for you. making a DVD is not simple, or quick, despite the advertising. Once you've actually got the edit done, it has to rendered - this can take a while if you've been a bit clever with effects, and then burnt to dvd. So the editing and burning of the master is NOT quick. An hour of proramme time will take at least double or triple the time to edit and burn in my experience - plus the file sizes are huge so you need big drives - 120 -250G ideally and a fast processor, bags of ram etc. One project I did two weeks ago was a 2hour show and it took 23 hrs to process the files in DV quality!