Yamaha "StagePA" Systems

Bobbsy

My son's school has applied for a grant to get a bit of sound stuff for a new hall they've just built.

They're looking at THIS.

Functionally, it meets quite nicely what they need it for (I won't bore you with the details) but I have no experience of this end of the market.

Has anyone used this system this system enough to comment on it? Are their others in the same general price and functionality range they should look at instead?

Thanks for any user reports!

It's a good, but quite small piece of kit that is popular as a resource for schools. Be aware that the 300 version does not have conventional pole sockets on the speakers, so that can't (without modification) be put onto stands. The issue with 'for a new hall they've just built' is that it is relatively low power, and so to offer any sensible opinion on its suitability we'd need to know how big that hall is, and what use was planned for it.

So - please feel free to bore us with the details!

I've used a system similar to this with the stands on the speakers for a few small gigs in pubs and clubs. They are really good and don't take a genius to make it all work. A nice small scale system. Would recommend it.

Okay...the boring details.

It's a small junior school (about 220 students between 5 and 11 years old). The "hall" mention is mainly just a peg to hang their grant application on--what they want is a portable system that can be used in several different areas. The largest of this is about the size of half a conventional gym (the new hall) and, as a sports hall, the use hear would likely be entirely speeches and meetings, the main area is about the size of a tennis court and the smallest about a double classroom (where they do music).