SLLET Derby University

Well, I might be a bit bias, but here goes.

I'm a first year student on SLLET at Derby. As far as I have seen so far, it's a good course, caters to people with lots of experience as well as those with little-none and has both a practical and technical element that balances nicely.

The first semester covers a lot of the basics and serves well to bring everyone up-to a similar level. There are elements of electrical calculations and theory, electrical products, signal analysis and computer data manipulation and also the practicalities of a simple event.

Derby itself is a really nice place to live, the halls are good and the facilities at the Uni are good too. Everywhere is flat (great for me as I cycle) and there are enough clubs in town for most people (even if they do all close too early!)

Josh

I agree with the comments made by

smalljoshua

I am in the same year as himself.

I also know people who have graduated and people who are in the second and third year of the course and none of them have a bad word to say about it.

Every one I know who has graduated this course has found a very good job working within the pro audio visual industry.

I myself looked at 3 other universities offering similar courses and I can honestly say that the SLLET course at the university of Derby is far superior to those.

SmallJoshua & arobinsonaudio thank you very much for your quick and helpful replies =]

I was originally going to do an audio engineering degree next October at sae institute when I came across the Derby course the other day , I am glad I have taken a "year out" though. I would have enrolled into a course and come across this one regretting my choice :o

I think Simon and his students would agree with me when I say that what you do with your gap year is almost as important as study. It gives you a chance to work in the industry, gain real-world experience and learn many of the basics which can enhance your academic studies enormously.